Clear Creek ISD Announces 2016 Citizen of the Year

Clear Creek ISD Announces 2016 Citizen of the Year
Posted on 10/12/2016

Each year the Clear Creek Independent School District takes great pride in naming and honoring a Citizen of the Year who has consistently demonstrated a commitment to the District and excellence in public education through their volunteer efforts. The 2016 Citizen of the Year is Joyce Abbey who is both a CCISD Alumnus and known advocate for the advancement of STEM programming in public education.

“Joyce’s service to this district and community is a full circle success story of a Clear Creek High School graduate who takes every opportunity she has to advocate for what a good education can mean to a child,” said Dr. Greg Smith, Superintendent of Schools. As the SAIC Employee Communications and External Relations Director, Abbey is also known for her championing of human spaceflight. She spearheads the Aerospace Teacher Extern Program which equips teachers to connect educational skills with what is happening in the workplace and industry, and the vast number and variety of career options available to students. 

The nomination read in part: “A well-known ‘spark starter’, Ms. Abbey advocates for support of STEM initiatives to her aerospace, and non-aerospace counterparts alike, rallying both businesses and volunteers onboard to support their local school district and student programs.” Abbey is also visibly dedicated to the greater community through her long-time support of many non-profit programs and organizations including Special Olympics, Hope Village, Feds Feed Families and Help Our Military Endure (HOME), to name a few.

The Citizen of the Year will be honored at the Clear Creek Education Foundation’s (CCEF) Gala on Saturday, November 5, 2016 at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, along with the Foundation’s selected honorees. Below is a complete list of the awardees to be honored at the 2016 gala, ‘From Inspiration to Reality’:

George G. Carlisle Distinguished Service Award

Scott Rainey

Citizen of the Year

Joyce BK Abbey

Distinguished Alumni Award

Janet Norman Brown

Thomas W. Horton

Riley Salmon

Dr. Brian Woods

CCISD Superstar Award

Jerry Smith

Dale Jensen, CCISD Secondary & Region 4 Teacher of the Year

Kristi Roney, CCISD Elementary Teacher of the Year

Dennis Johnson Memorial Small Business Award

Carol & Jim Saxe – Putt Putt Fun House

For more information on the Clear Creek Education Foundation Gala or to purchase tickets, please CLICK HERE, or contact CCEF Executive Director, Kaci Hanson at 281.284.0031. 

©2018 CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT | Powered by: SchoolMessenger | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Login