Lice (Pediculosis)

Parent Information Sheet: LICE (pdf) 

Managing Head Lice in a School Setting

Notice to Parents 

As of September 1, 2017, Texas Education Code, Chapter 38, Section 38.031, Notice of Lice, states the following: "The board of trustees of an independent school district shall adopt a policy requiring a school nurse of a public elementary school who determines or otherwise becomes aware that a child enrolled in the school has lice shall provide written or electronic notice of that fact to:

            (1)  the parent of the child with lice as soon as practicable but not later than 48 hours after the administrator or nurse, as applicable, determines or becomes aware of that fact; and

            (2)  the parent of each child assigned to the same classroom as the child with lice not later than the fifth school day after the date on which the administrator or nurse, as applicable, determines or becomes aware of that fact.”

Additional information about confidentiality is included within the law.


Lice (Pediculosis):

  • Students will be sent home from school if live lice are found in their hair.

  • Students will not be sent home if only nits are found.

  • Texas law also states students may return to school after one medicated shampoo or lotion treatment has been given. 

  • When returning to school a head check by the nurse is not required by law.

Treatment:

  • Treatment must be with a lice shampoo or cream rinse approved by the FDA.

  • Combing and picking out of nits is necessary to remove the nits.

  • A second treatment of lice shampoo or cream rinse 7-10 days after the first treatment is needed to kill remaining or newly hatched lice.

Management:

  • If treated, students may return to school the same day they were sent home.

  • Mass screenings are not recommended or required.

 

©2018 CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT | Powered by: SchoolMessenger | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Login